The LoRa Developer Forum is now in read-only mode and new content will not be added.
Semtech, in its commitment to enhance user experience and streamline content, has successfully integrated the LoRa Developer Portal content into Semtech.com. As a result of this consolidation effort, the LoRa® Developer Portal Forum will be discontinued on May 1st. After this date, you will be automatically redirected to Semtech.com.
For any technical support related to LoRa, please feel free to reach out to our experts here. If you have sales inquiries, please contact us here.

FORUM

Semtech SX1268 RSSI Calculation

Hi there, I am very new in LoRa. I am unable to find the correct value of RSSI. For example, with 1m distance between Tx and Rx, I am getting -256 dBm packet RSSI, although with zero packet loss, I guess. The GitHub code is here: Here and
Here

def get_channel_rssi(self):
        GPIO.output(self.M1,GPIO.LOW)
        GPIO.output(self.M0,GPIO.LOW)
        time.sleep(0.1)
        self.ser.flushInput()
        self.ser.write(bytes([0xC0,0xC1,0xC2,0xC3,0x00,0x02]))
        time.sleep(0.5)
        re_temp = bytes(5)
        if self.ser.inWaiting() > 0:
            time.sleep(0.1)
            re_temp = self.ser.read(self.ser.inWaiting())
        if re_temp[0] == 0xC1 and re_temp[1] == 0x00 and re_temp[2] == 0x02:
            # print("the current noise rssi value: -{0}dBm".format(256-re_temp[3]))
            print("the last receive packet rssi value: -{0}dBm".format(256-re_temp[4]))
        else:
            # pass
            print("receive rssi value fail")

Any adjustments or how to calculate RSSI?

Hi @mithun.mukherjee - welcome on the developer portal!

Can you please elaborate on how you perform this RSSI measurement?

• What are the functions you are calling?
  • In which mode is the transceiver?

The mode is WOR or Transmit mode