The LoRa Developer Forum is now in read-only mode and new content will not be added.
Semtech, in its commitment to enhance user experience and streamline content, has successfully integrated the LoRa Developer Portal content into Semtech.com. As a result of this consolidation effort, the LoRa® Developer Portal Forum will be discontinued on May 1st. After this date, you will be automatically redirected to Semtech.com.
For any technical support related to LoRa, please feel free to reach out to our experts here. If you have sales inquiries, please contact us here.

FORUM

Absolute beginner day one questions ( very long )

let me start by telling you how I got here.

I set out to build an Arduino doorbell that makes any sound but “ding-dong”. that was easy. then it occurred to me, put a camera on the door to see who rang the bell when I was gone. that would be useless without a time tag, so I added a GPS and RTC. then I determined that I need a driveway sensor, because when you have a 400 foot driveway, there is no need to be surprised by a doorbell.

project creep set in, and it has become the Large Property Perimeter Monitor: an intrusion or incursion detector for ranches, gravel pits, et cetera.

a problem is, every sensor needs a transmitter and receiver, every transmitter and receiver needs a controller - the expense and complexity are frightful.

and then I discovered LoRa and LoraWAN, which appear to be the solution I need, but there are no truly helpful beginners guides. everything I learn just raises more questions.